If you are in the Admins group on your site, the first menu item on the admin Settings menu is "Users". Click on that and you will be taken to a page that lists all the users on your site, along with the groups they belong to.
Clicking on a user's name will allow you to edit their group memberships, as well as optionally require them to use two factor authentication via Duo to log into your site. Before checking the "Require Duo" checkbox, make sure that person has been set up to use Caltech's Duo service. Otherwise, they will be unable to log in to the site's admin interface.
When adding a new user to your site, you should use "Add a Caltech User". The "Add a Local User" button is for special cases, like when you need to let someone who doesn't have an access.caltech account log in to your site.
Creating a user as a "Caltech User" will allow them to log in using their access.caltech username and password. In addition, when that person leaves Caltech, their access to your site will be automatically revoked.
All sites are set up with 5 groups:
Users should be in one and only one group - with the following exception: if you want to receive emails when someone chooses "Submit for Moderation", you must be in the Moderators group.
When IMSS creates a new site for you, they will have assigned the requestor(s) to the Admin group for the site. This group can edit all content on the site, change all site preferences, manage collections, and add or remove users and set their permissions.
Editors have almost as much power as admins but they are not allowed change anything in the "Site Preferences" section, they can not manage collections, and they are not allowed to add/edit/remove users from the site.
Using "Submit for Moderation"
For most sites, assigning users to either the Admin or Editor group should be sufficient. If, however, your site requires a more formal approval process, or you have delegated content creation to people whose work you need to review before going live, then you may want to use the Contributors and Moderators groups.
Contributors can add and edit pages, but they cannot publish them. They can only "submit for moderation". They can also add and edit photos and documents.
Moderators can do everything with pages, photos, and documents, but nothing else. They receive email notifications when a page is submitted for moderation.
Admins and Editors can also be Moderators, but that will only cause them to receive notification emails when pages are submitted for moderation.
Admins, Editors, and Moderators (everyone who has Publish permission on pages) will see pages that are pending moderation in the "Pages Awaiting Moderation" widget on the admin homepage (/admin/). From that widget, they can preview the submitted page, make edits, and/or accept or reject the page as is. If they reject it, the original author will receive a notification email that their page was rejected, and they can go in and edit it further, then submit for moderation again.
The viewers group is unlike the other groups in that it does not allow the user to see the admin interface and does not allow them to make any changes on the web site. The purpose of the "Viewers" group is to allow users to see pages you have designated as "Private, accessible only to users belonging to specific groups on your site" and have chosen "Viewers" as one of the allowed groups. This is useful if you want to have a section of your site that is private to your lab or office.
|Can create and edit pages||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||No|
|Can publish pages||Yes||Yes||Yes||No||No|
|Can edit images and documents||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||No|
|Can edit site settings||Yes||Yes||No||No||No|
|Can edit site preferences||Yes||No||No||No||No|
|Can manage users||Yes||No||No||No||No|
We do not create the "Members" group for every site. If you would like to allow people to edit their own "Person pages", you will need to email email@example.com and ask us to set up a "Members" group for your site. Users in the "Members" group can edit specific person pages - and can upload and use images and documents stored in the collection associated with those pages. Setting a user's group to "Members" gives them access to this very limited admin interface - but giving them edit permission for one or more pages is handled on the Settings tab for the page they are allowed to edit.